About Us

About Chennaiyin FC

We are the Chennai based franchise playing in the Hero Indian Super League since its inception in 2014. In Mrs. Vita Dani, Mr. Abhishek Bachchan & Mr. Mahendra Singh Dhoni, we have a passionate set of owners at the helm who come with a single-minded vision of making Chennaiyin F.C. the best & the most successful club in India.

Our large, passionate fan community stands with us through thick & thin & are the backbone on which the club has been taking huge strides in the development & growth of football in Tamil Nadu.

The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium is our fortress with a capacity of 30,000 seats & is almost upto its full occupancy every single match. It has been lovingly & famously renamed the “Marina Arena” by the Chennaiyin FC loyalists.

In the inaugural season of the Hero ISL, we were table toppers in the league stages & narrowly missed out on a place in the finals, and the semi-finals is regarded as one of the most thrilling matches of the Hero ISL till date. In 2015, under the guidance of our manager then, the Italian World Cup winning legend, Mr. Marco Materazzi, we went onto set a record streak of maximum consecutive wins in the Hero ISL. Inspired performances in the second half of the season helped the team gain momentum en-route to being crowned the Champions of the Hero ISL 2015 in an exhilarating final at the Fatorda stadium in Goa against FC Goa. Four out of the five individual awards were bagged by Chennaiyin F.C. with the ever inspirational, John Stiven Mendoza – who scored two goals in the final including the title clinching goal, winning the Golden Boot award & being recognized as the Hero of the League.

Our current manager is a former Aston Villa man, John Gregory & has brought in experienced personnel including Mark Lillis, Syed Sabir Pasha as the assistant managers, former Liverpool goalkeeper Tony Warner as the goalkeeping coach & Niall Clark as the Sports Scientist of the team.

Our squad comprises of the former Brighton star, Inigo Calderon, the former Portuguese international Henrique Sereno, the Brazilian playmaker Raphael Augusto & the former Slovenian International, Rene Mihelic. Our domestic crop includes Indian internationals such as Jeje Lalpekhlua, Karanjit Singh, teenage prodigy Jerry Lalrinzuala & Dhanapal Ganesh – the first player of the franchise from Tamil Nadu.